Kingsclere is a historic village on the edge of Watership Down. Below are just a few suggestions for walks, places to vist, eat and stay. Please confirm directly with any business or organisation before planning a visit. 

 

 

Places to Eat or Stay, Within 30 Mins

The Wellington Arms, Baughurst, thewellingtonarms.com

Heckfield Place, near Hook, heckfieldplace.com

Bel & the Dragon, Kingsclere, belandthedragon-kingsclere.co.uk

Dewpond, Old Burghclere, dewpond.co.uk

The Pheasant, Highclere, thepheasanthighclere.co.uk

Bourne Valley Inn, St Mary Bourne, bournevalleyinn.com

The Woodspeen, near Newbury, thewoodspeen.com

The White Hart, Overton, https://www.whitehartoverton.co.uk/ 

 

 

Cafes, Delis and Farm Shops

Honesty Coffee Shop, Kingsclere, honestygroup.co.uk

Kingsclere Village Butcher, kingsclerevillagebutcher.co.uk

The Hampshire Deli and Farm Shop, Wolverton, hampshire-deli.co.uk

Cobbs Farm Shop, Manydown, cobbsfarmshops.co.uk/cobbs-manydown

Rosebourne, near Aldermaston, rosebourne.co.uk/centre/aldermaston

The Blackbird Cafe, Chapel Row, theblackbirdcafe.co.uk

Wellington Farm Shop, Stratfield Saye, wellingtonfarmshop.co.uk

Longstock Park, Leckford, leckfordestate.co.uk

 

 

Places to Visit, Indoors

Highclere Castle (HHA), highclerecastle.co.uk 
The Vyne, Sherborne St John (NT), nationaltrust.org.uk/the-vyne

Englefield House and Gardens (HHA, RHS), englefieldestate.co.uk

Houghton Lodge House and Gardens, Stockbridge (HHA, RHS), houghtonlodge.co.uk

Stratfield Saye House and Grounds (HHA), wellington.co.uk/stratfield-saye-house

Mottisfont House and Gardens, near Romsey (NT), nationaltrust.org.uk/mottisfont

Sandham Memorial Chapel, Burghclere (NT), nationaltrust.org.uk/sandham-memorial-chapel

Winchester Cathedral, winchester-cathedral.org.uk

Whitchurch Silk Mill, whitchurchsilkmill.org.uk

Bombay Sapphire Distillery, Laverstoke, bombaysapphire.com/distillery

 

 

Places to Visit, Outdoors

Danebury Hill Fort, Stockbridge, hants.gov.uk

Silchester Roman Walls (English Heritage), english-heritage.org.uk

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, Romsey (RHS), hilliergardens.org.uk

Wellington Country Park, Stratfield Saye, wellingtoncountrypark.co.uk

Wellington Riding, Stratfield Saye, wellington-riding.co.uk

Beale Park, Lower Basildon, bealepark.org.uk

The Grange, Alresford (English Heritage), english-heritage.org.uk

Hardy's Cottage Garden Nursery, Whitchurch, hardysplants.co.uk

 

Local market towns include Winchester. Alresford, Hungerford, Newbury and Stockbridge.

 

You may also find the NGS gardensRHS partner gardens and HHA websites useful.

 

 

Walks

Watership Down Walk

Kingsclere and Hannington Walk

North Hampshire Downs Walk

Sandham Memorial Chapel Walk

Beacon Hill and Highclere Walk

Highclere Castle Walks

Wayfarer's Walk

 

Updated 29th October 2021