Local Area

Visiting during covid-19

A visit to the gallery during coronavirus is very much possible and enjoyable as we are located in the village of Kingsclere at the foot of Watership Down. You also have the option to explore the beautiful countryside that surounds the gallery, with a number of suggested walks and places to collect impromptu picnic highlighted below.

 

 

WALKS

Watership Down Walk

Kingsclere and Hannington Walk

North Hampshire Downs Walk

Sandham Memorial Chapel Walk

Beacon Hill and Highclere Castle Walk

Highclere Castle Walks

 

 

PLACES FOR FOOD DURING COVID-19

 "Welly Deli" at the Wellington Arms, Baughurst, thewellingtonarms.com 

Honesty Coffee Shop, Kingsclere, HonestyCoffeeKingsclere

The Hampshire Deli, facebook.com/hampshiredeli

Kingsclere Village Butcher, kingsclerevillagebutcher.co.uk

 

 

PLACES TO EAT OR STAY 

Our recommendations, though please confirm directly that they are currently open

 

Wellington Arms, Baughurst, thewellingtonarms.com

Heckfield Place, near Hook, heckfieldplace.com

Bel & the Dragon, Kingsclere, belandthedragon-kingsclere.co.uk

Dewpond Restaurant, Old Burghclere, dewpond.co.uk

The Red Lion, Overton, redlion-overton.co.uk

The Pheasant, Highclere, thepheasanthighclere.co.uk

The White Hart, Overton, whitehartoverton.co.uk

 

 

PLACES TO VISIT

Our recommendations, though please confirm directly that they are currently open

 

Highclere Castle, highclerecastle.co.uk 
Sandham Memorial Chapel, nationaltrust.org.uk/sandham-memorial-chapel
The Vyne, nationaltrust.org.uk/the-vyne
Wayfarer's Walk, including Watership Down, hants.gov.uk/thingstodo/countryside/walking/wayfarerswalk
Jane Austen's House, Chawton, jane-austens-house-museum.org.uk 

Winchester Cathedral, winchester-cathedral.org.uk 

 

Local market towns of Alresford, Hungerford, Newbury and Stockbridge.

 

...WITH THE KIDS

Our recommendations, though please confirm directly that they are currently open

 

Stratfield Saye House, wellingtonestates.co.uk
Wellington Country Park, wellington-country-park.co.uk 

Beale Park, bealepark.org.uk
Englefield House: englefieldestate.co.uk
Legoland, Windsor: legoland.co.uk