Local Area

Updated 6th March 2021

 

We are based at the foot of Watership Down in the historic village of Kingsclere. With the option to explore the beautiful Hampshire countryside that surounds the gallery, we have highlighted a number of suggested walks and places to collect an impromptu picnic below.

 

 

WALKS

Watership Down Walk

Kingsclere and Hannington Walk

North Hampshire Downs Walk

Sandham Memorial Chapel Walk

Beacon Hill and Highclere Castle Walk

Highclere Castle Walks

 

 

PLACES FOR FOOD

Our recommendations - please confirm directly with each business before planning to visit

 

The Wellington Arms, Baughurst, thewellingtonarms.com 

Honesty Coffee Shop, Kingsclere, Honesty Coffee Kingsclere

The Hampshire Deli, facebook.com/hampshiredeli

Kingsclere Village Butcher, kingsclerevillagebutcher.co.uk

 

 

PLACES TO EAT OR STAY 

Our recommendations - please confirm directly with each business before planning to visit

 

Wellington Arms, Baughurst, thewellingtonarms.com

Heckfield Place, near Hook, heckfieldplace.com

Bel & the Dragon, Kingsclere, belandthedragon-kingsclere.co.uk

Dewpond Restaurant, Old Burghclere, dewpond.co.uk

The Red Lion, Overton, redlion-overton.co.uk

The Pheasant, Highclere, thepheasanthighclere.co.uk

The White Hart, Overton, whitehartoverton.co.uk

 

 

PLACES TO VISIT

Our recommendations - please confirm directly with each business before planning to visit

 

Highclere Castle, highclerecastle.co.uk 
Sandham Memorial Chapel, nationaltrust.org.uk/sandham-memorial-chapel
The Vyne, nationaltrust.org.uk/the-vyne
Wayfarer's Walk, including Watership Down, hants.gov.uk/thingstodo/countryside/walking/wayfarerswalk
Jane Austen's House, Chawton, jane-austens-house-museum.org.uk 

Winchester Cathedral, winchester-cathedral.org.uk 

 

Local market towns of Alresford, Hungerford, Newbury and Stockbridge.

 

...WITH THE KIDS

Our recommendations - please confirm directly with each business before planning to visit

 

Stratfield Saye House, wellingtonestates.co.uk
Wellington Country Park, wellington-country-park.co.uk 

Beale Park, bealepark.org.uk
Englefield House: englefieldestate.co.uk
Legoland, Windsor: legoland.co.uk