Things to do around Kingsclere this Summer

For those of you planning Bank Holiday weekends or Summer expeditions consider a visit to Kingsclere, our historic village in Hampshire. Lying at the base of Watership Down, surrounded by glorious walks, we are just a short drive away from attractions such as Highclere Castle, Sandham Memorial Chapel and The Vyne. Heckfield Place near Hook and The Wellington Arms in Baughurst are among the spoiling hotels and restaurants nearby. 

Below are a few suggestions for walks and places to eat, stay and visit. Please confirm directly with any business or organisation before planning a visit. 

 

Walks

Beacon Hill and Highclere Walk

Highclere Castle Walks
Kingsclere and Hannington Walk
North Hampshire Downs Walk

Sandham Memorial Chapel Walk

Watership Down Walk

Wayfarer's Walk

 

Places to eat or stay

The Wellington Arms, Baughurst, thewellingtonarms.com
Heckfield Place, near Hook, heckfieldplace.com

Bel & the Dragon, Kingsclere, belandthedragon-kingsclere.co.uk

Bourne Valley Inn, St Mary Bourne, bournevalleyinn.com
Dewpond, Old Burghclere, dewpond.co.uk

The Woodspeen, near Newbury, thewoodspeen.com

 

Places to visit

Englefield House and Gardens (HHA, RHS), englefieldestate.co.uk
Highclere Castle (HHA), highclerecastle.co.uk
Houghton Lodge House and Gardens, Stockbridge (HHA, RHS), houghtonlodge.co.uk
Mottisfont House and Gardens, near Romsey (NT), nationaltrust.org.uk/mottisfont
Sandham Memorial Chapel, Burghclere (NT), nationaltrust.org.uk/sandham-memorial-chapel

Stratfield Saye House and Grounds (HHA), wellington.co.uk/stratfield-saye-house

Winchester Cathedral, winchester-cathedral.org.uk

The Vyne, Sherborne St John (NT), nationaltrust.org.uk/the-vyne

 

Local market towns include Winchester. Alresford, Hungerford, Newbury and Stockbridge.

 

July 11, 2022
of 71